The books I’m reading now.

 

For a while I couldn’t settle on anything to read. Now, I am suddenly overwhelmed with goodies. I’m well into each of these books and am enjoying them all.

Let the Great World Spin by Colum McCann is 1970’s Bronx, literary book research for me.

Lyddie, I bought at the library booksale, classic YA by Katherine Paterson about a factory girl in Lowell, Massachusetts in 1843.

Green Island by Shawna Yang Ryan is set partially in Taiwan, 1947. This is close to the time my mother was born, recently following Japanese colonial rule and the Chinese Nationalist were settling in there. I know very little of period of history aside from the almost nothing my mother mentioned and another novel, The Third Son (Also excellent. All my mom’s Taiwanese friends were talking about it when it came out a few year ago) by Julie Wu.

The most recent start is All is Not Forgotten by Wendy Walker. A girl receives a drug treatment to erase the memory of rape trauma. I haven’t gotten to the part about how this impacts the search for the perpetrator or the girl in the long run. Psychological suspense, for sure.

Leave a comment